The Old Neighborhood – High Wine Historic District

High Wine

No trip to Peoria is complete without a jaunt down historic High St. It’s probably my favorite old neighborhood around. Many of the houses on the street owe their existence to the whiskey baron’s who built them. Once known as the “Whiskey Capital of the World,” this is where a lot of shenanigan’s took place no doubt. And I myself enjoy some good old fashioned Tom Foolery. I’ll spare you the history lesson today, only to entice you with the idea of starting our own Peoria Whiskey Tours in the near future. As always, you can contact me here if you are interested.

oak

As you might imagine by the era of history pre-prohibition, this is no cookie-cutter neighborhood with beige bastards side by side. This is just a quick recap of my walk through the neighborhood. I’ll leave the rest for you to explore.

High3

High2

High1

104

High 6

High4

High5

See it for yourself:

High St.

Leave a Reply

